Mathematics Program

Program Overview/Mission

The Mathematical Sciences Program offers a Master of Science in Mathematics and a Master of Science in Statistics as well as a Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Science. Although many people mistakenly believe that a degree in mathematics only prepares one for a career as a teacher or an actuary, a mathematics degree is actually excellent preparation for professions in finance, economics or business. Almost every branch of the federal government employs mathematicians. Many fields demand skills in applied science and technology, such as medicine, DNA forensics, weather forecasting, environmental science and computer programming.

Careers consistently named as the five most sought-after jobs (computer system analyst, computer programmer, actuary, software engineer, and mathematician) recruit employees with a strong mathematics background. UHCL's campus neighbors include Houston's premiere medical, aerospace, and chemical engineering companies. Those firms continually hire many Mathematics Master of Science graduates from University of Houston-Clear Lake.


Program Degrees

 Teacher Certifications

Minors

Admission Requirements

  • Math M.S.
  • Admission Deadline

    Standard Graduate Admission Deadline

  • Application
    A standard university application is required.
  • Requirements
    • 3.0 GPA
    • GRE Total Score of 290 (150 Quantitative)
    • Additional Requirements – Undergraduate degree in Math; Students with other degrees may apply if undergraduate course work includes a substantial number of advanced credit hours in math courses.

Additional Admission Information

Program Faculty

Nelson Carter
Nelson Carter

Nelson Carter

Lecturer of Mathematics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3730
Email: carter@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-9

Faculty Bio

Raj Chhikara
Raj Chhikara

Raj Chhikara

Professor Emeritus,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3726
Email: chhikara@uhcl.edu
Office: TDA-33

Faculty Bio

Tom Fox
Tom Fox

Tom Fox

Associate Professor of Mathematics Education,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3723
Email: fox@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-12

Faculty Bio

Michael Heerey
Michael  Heerey

Michael Heerey

Lecturer of Mathematics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3731
Email: heerey@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-13

Faculty Bio

Kalanka Jayalath
Kalanka Jayalath

Kalanka Jayalath

Assistant Professor of Statistics ,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3778
Email: jayalath@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-7

Faculty Bio

Travis Knodel
Travis Knodel

Travis Knodel

Lecturer of Mathematics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3722
Email: knodel@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-16

Faculty Bio

Yingfu Li
Yingfu Li

Yingfu (Frank) Li

Program Chair of Statistics and Associate Professor of Statistics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3728
Email: li@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-10

Office hours:
TR 12:15 - 2:45pm

Faculty Bio

Jingjing Ma
Jingjing Ma

Jingjing Ma

Department Chair of Mathematics and Statistics and Professor of Mathematics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3727
Email: ma@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-8

Office hours:
Tuesday & Thursday
4:30-5:30p.m.

Faculty Bio

Frank Matthews
Frank Matthews

Frank Matthews

Associate Professor of Mathematics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3725
Email: matthews@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-6

Faculty Bio

Zokhrab Mustafaev
Zokhrab Mustafaev

Zokhrab Mustafaev

Associate Professor of Mathematics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3735
Email: mustafaev@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-11

Faculty Bio

Teresa Rivas
Teresa Rivas

Teresa Rivas

Lecturer of Mathematics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3736
Email: rivas@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-2

Faculty Bio

LieJune Shiau
LieJune Shiau

LieJune Shiau

Professor of Mathematics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3724
Email: shiau@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-14

Faculty Bio

Sadhana Weerasinghe
Sadhana Weerasinghe

Sadhana Weerasinghe

Lecturer of Mathematics and Statistics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3734
Email: weerasinghe@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-3

Faculty Bio

Yipeng Yang
Yipeng Yang

Yipeng Yang

Assistant Professor of Mathematics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3737
Email: yangy@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-5

Faculty Bio