Faculty

As a student studying a science or engineering discipline at University of Houston-Clear Lake, your education will be fostered by leading minds who also happen to be thoughtful professors. The faculty of Science and Engineering features experts in fields as diverse as therapeutic oncology, coastal ornithology, biogeochemistry, plant genomics, invertebrate zoology, neurobiology, pathophysiology, molecular biology, microbial ecology, plant physiology and environmental chemistry. The college is divided into five departments: Biological and Environmental Sciences, Mathematics and Statistics, Computing Sciences, Engineering, and Physical and Applied Sciences.

Krishani Abeysekera
Krishani Abeysekera

Krishani Abeysekera

Program Chair of Information Technology and Senior Lecturer/System Administrator of Computer Science and Computer Information Systems ,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3831
Email: abeysekera@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta 165

Faculty Bio

Ahmed Abukmail
Ahmed Abukmail

Ahmed Abukmail

Associate Professor of Computer Science,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3888
Email: Abukmail@UHCL.edu
Office: Delta 169

Faculty Bio

Magdy Akladios
Magdy Akladios

Magdy Akladios

Department Chair of Physical and Applied Sciences and Associate Professor of Industrial Hygiene and Safety ,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283 3744
Email: akladios@uhcl.edu
Office: B3531-4

Faculty Bio

Hisham Al-Mubaid
Hisham Al-Mubaid

Hisham Al-Mubaid

Associate Professor of Computer Science and Computer Information Systems,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3802
Email: hisham@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta 168

Faculty Bio

Martha Ariza

Martha Ariza

Lecturer in Biotechnology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3763
Email: Ariza@UHCL.edu
Office: B3321

Faculty Bio

Faruk Arslan
Faruk Arslan

Faruk Arslan

Assistant Professor of Computer Information Systems,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3886
Email: Arslan@UHCL.edu
Office: Delta 228

Faculty Bio

Said Bettayeb
Said Bettayeb

Said Bettayeb

Program Chair of Computer Information Systems, Professor of Computer Science and Computer Information Systems ,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3857
Email: bettayeb@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta 166

Faculty Bio

Gary Boetticher
Gary Boetticher

Gary Boetticher

Associate Professor of Computer Science, Computer Information Systems and Software Engineering ,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3805
Email: boetticher@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta 164

Faculty Bio

Ipek Bozkurt
Ipek Bozkurt

Ipek Bozkurt

Associate Professor of Engineering Management,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3882
Email: bozkurt@uhcl.edu
Office: D113

Faculty Bio

Vernon Bryant
Vernon Bryant

Vernon Bryant

Senior Lecturer of Computer Engineering,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3733
Email: bryant@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta 109

Faculty Bio

Pradeep Buddharaju
Pradeep Buddharaju | UHCL College of Science and Engineering

Pradeep Buddharaju

Assistant Professor of Computer Science and Computer Information Systems,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3881
Email: Buddharaju@UHCL.edu
Office: Delta 173

Office hours:
Tue 5:30-7:30pm, Wed 4:00-6:00pm

Faculty Bio

Nelson Carter
Nelson Carter

Nelson Carter

Lecturer of Mathematics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3730
Email: carter@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-9

Faculty Bio

Dennis M. Casserly
Dennis Casserly

Dennis M. Casserly

Professor Emeritus,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3775
Email: casserly@uhcl.edu
Office: B3525-5

Faculty Bio

Raj Chhikara
Raj Chhikara

Raj Chhikara

Professor Emeritus,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3726
Email: chhikara@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-7

Faculty Bio

Jian Cui
Jian Cui

Jian Cui

Assistant Professor of Chemistry,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3793
Email: cuijian@uhcl.edu
Office: B3525-6

Faculty Bio

James Dabney
Jamie Gooding

James (Jim) Dabney

Program Chair and Professor of Systems Engineering,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3852
Email: dabney@uhcl.edu
Office: D101

Faculty Bio

Soma Datta

Soma Datta

Assistant Professor of Software Engineering,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3838
Email: datta@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta 225

Faculty Bio

Sadegh Davari
Sadegh Davari

Sadegh Davari

Department Chair of Computing and Mathematics and Professor of Computer Science and Computer Information Systems ,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3865
Email: davari@uhcl.edu
Office: D153

Faculty Bio

Keith Drake
Keith Drake

Keith Drake

Program Chair of Pre-Engineering and Visiting Professor of Software Engineering,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3853
Email: Drake@UHCL.edu
Office: D105A

Faculty Bio

Anton V. Dubrovskiy
Anton Dubrovskiy

Anton V. Dubrovskiy

Assistant Professor of Chemistry,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3769
Email: dubrovskiy@uhcl.edu
Office: B3525-17

Faculty Bio

Terry Feagin
Terry Feagin

Terry Feagin

Professor of Computer Science and Computer Information Systems,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3880
Email: feagin@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta 152

Faculty Bio

Michael Findler
Michael Findler

Michael Findler

Program Chair of SWEN, Assistant Professor of Software Engineering,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3884
Email: findler@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta 120

Faculty Bio

Tom Fox
Tom Fox

Tom Fox

Associate Professor of Mathematics Education,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3723
Email: fox@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-12

Faculty Bio

Thomas Garcia
Thomas Garcia

Thomas Garcia

Assistant Professor of Biology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3740
Email: GarciaT@UHCL.edu
Office: B3321

Faculty Bio

David Garrison
David Garrison

David Garrison

Graduate Programs Director and Associate Professor of Physics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3796
Email: garrison@uhcl.edu
Office: B3531-2

Faculty Bio

George Guillen
George Guillen

George Guillen

Executive Director of Environmental Institute of Houston and Associate Professor of Biology and Environmental Science ,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3950
Email: guillen@uhcl.edu
Office: N116

Faculty Bio

Sharon Hall
Sharon Hall

Sharon Perkins Hall

Program Chair of Computer Science and Professor of Computer Science and Computer Information Systems ,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3868
Email: perkins@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta 115

Office hours:
Tuesday 2:00 - 5:00 pm
Thursday 2:00 - 5:00 pm

Faculty Bio

Thomas L. Harman
Thomas Harman

Thomas L. Harman

Department Chair of Engineering and Professor of Computer Engineering,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3774
Email: harman@uhcl.edu
Office: D101

Faculty Bio

James Helm
James Helm

James Carlton Helm

Associate Professor of Software Engineering,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3875
Email: helm@uhcl.edu
Office: D101

Faculty Bio

Trung Hoang

Trung Hoang

Visiting Assistant Professor of Chemistry,
Science and Engineering

Email: hoangtr@uhcl.edu

Faculty Bio

Glen Houston
Glen Houston

Glen Houston

Associate Vice President for Information Resources and Professor of Computer Science and Statistics ,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3000
Email: houston@uhcl.edu
Office: B2525

Faculty Bio

Cynthia Howard
Cynthia Howard

Cynthia L. Howard

Program Chair of Biological Sciences and Professor of Biology and Environmental Science,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3745
Email: howardc@uhcl.edu
Office: 3525-12

Faculty Bio

Daniel Imrecke
Daniel Imrecke

Daniel Imrecke

Assistant Professor of Geology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3766
Email: imrecke@uhcl.edu
Office: B3321-7

Faculty Bio

Venkata Inukollu

Venkata Inukollu

Visiting Professor of Software Engineering,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3824
Email: inukollu@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta 222

Faculty Bio

Kalanka Jayalath

Kalanka Jayalath

Assistant Professor of Statistics ,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3726
Email: jayalath@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-7

Faculty Bio

Ki-Young Jeong
Ki-Young Jeong

Ki-Young Jeong

Program Chair and Associate Professor of Engineering Management,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3862
Email: jeongk@uhcl.edu
Office: D111

Faculty Bio

Ju H. Kim
Ju Kim

Ju H. Kim

Associate Dean of the College of Science and Engineering and Professor of Physics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3717
Email: KimJ@UHCL.edu
Office: B3611

Faculty Bio

Emre Kirac

Emre Kirac

Assistant Professor of Engineering Management,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3816
Email: kirac@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta Annex 4

Faculty Bio

Hakduran Koc
Hakduran Koc

Hakduran Koc

Associate Professor of Computer Engineering,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3877
Email: KocHakduran@uhcl.edu
Office: D110

Faculty Bio

Arcadius Krivoshein

Arcadius V. Krivoshein

Assistant Professor of Chemistry,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3785
Email: Krivoshein@UHCL.edu
Office: B3121-36

Faculty Bio

Lisa Lacher
Lisa Lacher

Lisa Lacher

Assistant Professor of Information Technology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3885
Email: Lacher@UHCL.edu
Office: Delta 161

Faculty Bio

Michael LaMontagne

Michael LaMontagne

Assistant Professor of Microbiology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3754
Email: LaMontagne@UHCL.edu
Office: B3121-4

Faculty Bio

Yingfu (Frank) Li
Yingfu Li

Yingfu (Frank) Li

Program Chair of Statistics and Associate Professor of Statistics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3728
Email: li@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-10

Office hours:
TR 12:15 - 2:45pm

Faculty Bio

Morris Liaw
Morris Liaw

Morris Liaw

Associate Professor of Computer Science and Computer Information Systems,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3876
Email: liaw@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta 170

Office hours:
Spring 2017 & Fall 2017
Wed 1:30pm - 3:30pm &
Thu 10:00am - 12:00pm; 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Faculty Bio

Rio Carlo Lirag

Rio Carlo Lirag

Lecturer of Chemistry,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: (281) 283-3741
Office: B3121-8

Faculty Bio

Jack Lu
Jack Lu

Jack Y. Lu

Professor of Chemistry,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3780
Email: lu@uhcl.edu
Office: B3525-7

Faculty Bio

Jiang Lu

Jiang Lu

Assistance Professor of Computer Science,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3856
Email: luj@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta 121

Faculty Bio

Jingjing Ma
Jingjing Ma

Jingjing Ma

Department Chair of Mathematics and Statistics and Professor of Mathematics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3727
Email: ma@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-8

Office hours:
Tuesday & Thursday
4:30-5:30p.m.

Faculty Bio

Alexandra MacDermott
Alexandra MacDermott

Alexandra MacDermott

Associate Professor of Physical Chemistry,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-2283-3773
Email: macdermott@uhcl.edu
Office: B3531

Faculty Bio

Arti Mann
Arti Mann

Arti Mann

Assistant Professor of Information Technology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3871
Email: Mann@UHCL.edu
Office: Delta 174

Faculty Bio

Samina S. Masood
Samina Masood

Samina S. Masood

Program Chair of Physics, Associate Professor of Physics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3781
Email: masood@uhcl.edu
Office: B3525-8

Faculty Bio

Frank Matthews
Frank Matthews

Frank Matthews

Associate Professor of Mathematics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3725
Email: matthews@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-6

Faculty Bio

Van Mayes
Van Mayes

Van Eric Mayes

Assistant Professor of Physics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3764
Email: MayesV@UHCL.edu
Office: B3321

Faculty Bio

Sheena Miller

Sheena Miller

Assistant Professor of Software Engineering,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3846
Email: MillerS@uhcl.edu
Office: D105A

Faculty Bio

Heath Mills

Heath Mills

Assistant Professor of Biology, Biotechnology and Environmental Sciences,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3772
Email: MillsH@UHCL.edu
Office: B3531

Faculty Bio

Ronald Mills
Ronald Mills

W. Ronald Mills

Professor of Biology and Chemistry,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3773
Email: mills@uhcl.edu
Office: B3531-1

Faculty Bio

Russell L. Minton

Russell L. Minton

Associate Professor of Biology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3760
Email: Minton@UHCL.edu
Office: B3531

Faculty Bio

Sachiyo Mukherji

Sachiyo Mukherji

Lecturer of Environmental Chemistry,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3789
Email: Mukherji@uhcl.edu
Office: B3237

Faculty Bio

Zokhrab Mustafaev
Zokhrab Mustafaev

Zokhrab Mustafaev

Associate Professor of Mathematics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3735
Email: mustafaev@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-11

Faculty Bio

Anurag Nagar
Anurag Nagar

Anurag Nagar

Visiting Assistant Professor of Computer Science,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3838
Email: Nagar@UHCL.edu
Office: B3128

Faculty Bio

Mary Ellen Nye
Mary Nye

Mary Ellen Nye

Lecturer in Biology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3748
Email: Nye@UHCL.edu
Office: 3525

Faculty Bio

Alfredo Perez-Davila
Alfredo Perez-Davila

Alfredo Perez-Davila

Associate Professor of Computer Science and Computer Information Systems,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3863
Email: perezd@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta 167

Faculty Bio

Robert Phalen
Robert Phalen

Robert Phalen

Associate Professor of Industrial Hygiene and Safety,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3753
Email: phalen@uhcl.edu
Office: B3321-8

Faculty Bio

Charles E. Phillips Jr.
Charles Phillips

Charles E. Phillips Jr.

Lecturer of Computer Science,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3837
Email: Phillips@UHCL.edu
Office: B3128

Faculty Bio

Gerald Pollack
Gerald Pollack

Gerald Pollack

Lecturer of Environmental Science,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3742
Email: Pollack@UHCL.edu
Office: Bayou 3321-8

Faculty Bio

Richard L. Puzdrowski Jr.
Richard Puzdrowski

Richard L. Puzdrowski Jr.

Associate Professor of Biology, Biotechnology and Environmental Science,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3750
Email: puzdrowski@uhcl.edu
Office: B3525- 4

Faculty Bio

Mary Randolph-Gips
Mary Randolph-Gips

Mary Randolph-Gips

Assistant Professor of Computer Engineering,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3859
Email: randolph-gips@uhcl.edu
Office: D101

Faculty Bio

Bazlur Rashid
Bazlur Rashid

Bazlur Rashid

Associate Professor of Biology and Biotechnology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283 3756
Email: rashid@uhcl.edu
Office: 3525-11

Faculty Bio

Teresa Rivas
Teresa Rivas

Teresa Rivas

Lecturer of Mathematics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3736
Email: rivas@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-2

Faculty Bio

Larry Rohde
Larry Rohde

Larry Rohde

Department Chair of Biological & Environmental Sciences and Associate Professor of Biology and Biotechnology ,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3743
Email: rohde@uhcl.edu
Office: B3525-6

Faculty Bio

Lory Z. Santiago-Vázquez
Lory Santiago-Vázquez

Lory Z. Santiago-Vázquez

Program Chair of Biotechnology, Associate Professor of Biology and Biotechnology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3776
Email: santiago@uhcl.edu
Office: B3525-7

Faculty Bio

Kewei Sha

Kewei Sha

Assistant Professor of Computer Science,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3874
Email: sha@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta 148

Faculty Bio

LieJune Shiau
LieJune Shiau

LieJune Shiau

Professor of Mathematics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3724
Email: shiau@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-14

Faculty Bio

Liwen Shih
Liwen Shih

Liwen Shih

Professor of Computer Engineering,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3866
Email: shih@uhcl.edu
Office: D101

Faculty Bio

Brian Stephens
Brian Stephens

Brian Stephens

Assistant Professor of Biotechnology and Biology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3798
Email: Stephensb@UHCL.edu
Office: B3525

Faculty Bio

Yi Su

Yi Su

Assistant Professor of Chemistry,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-2833752
Email: Su@UHCL.edu
Office: Bayou 3121

Faculty Bio

Dongmin Sun
Dongmin Sun

Dongmin Sun

Associate Professor of Environmental Science and Geology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3787
Email: sundon@uhcl.edu
Office: B3525-10

Faculty Bio

Walter Thompson
Walter Thompson

Walter Thompson

Lecturer of Physics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3768
Email: ThompsonW@UHCL.edu
Office: B3321

Faculty Bio

Patricia Trubl
Patricia Trubl

Patricia Trubl

Lecturer of Biology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3762
Email: Trubl@UHCL.edu
Office: B3321

Faculty Bio

Ishaq Unwala
Ishaq Unwala

Ishaq Unwala

Assistant Professor of Computer Engineering,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3849
Email: unwala@uhcl.edu
Office: D222

Faculty Bio

Radu Vlas
Radu Vlas

Radu Vlas

Assistant Professor of Computer Information Systems and Information Technology,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3878
Email: Vlas@UHCL.edu
Office: Delta 116

Faculty Bio

Daniel Zerong Wang
Daniel Wang

Daniel Zerong Wang

Program Chair and Professor of Chemistry,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3795
Email: Wang@uhcl.edu
Office: 3525-13

Faculty Bio

Sadhana Weerasinghe
Sadhana Weerasinghe

Sadhana Weerasinghe

Lecturer of Mathematics and Statistics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3734
Email: weerasinghe@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-3

Faculty Bio

Wei Wei
Wei Wei

Wei Wei

Assistant Professor of Computer Information Systems,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3732
Email: Wei@UHCL.edu
Office: Delta 175

Faculty Bio

Sharon White
Sharon White

Sharon Andrews White

Associate Professor of Software Engineering,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3867
Email: whites@uhcl.edu
Office: D105

Faculty Bio

Paul Withey
Paul Withey

Paul Withey

Associate Professor of Physics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3799
Email: Withey@UHCL.edu
Office: B3531

Faculty Bio

Lei Wu
Lei Wu

Lei Wu

Associate Professor of Software Engineering,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3854
Email: wul@uhcl.edu
Office: D107

Faculty Bio

Andrew Yang
Andrew Yang

Toneluh (Andrew) A. Yang

Director of Cyber Security Institute, Associate Professor of Computer Science and Computer Information Systems ,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3835
Email: yang@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta 106

Faculty Bio

Yipeng Yang
Yipeng Yang

Yipeng Yang

Assistant Professor of Mathematics,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3737
Email: yangy@uhcl.edu
Office: B3521-5

Faculty Bio

Xiaokun Yang

Xiaokun Yang

Assistant Professor of Computer Engineering,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3812
Email: yangxia@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta Annex 10

Faculty Bio

Bun Yue
Kwok-Bun Yue

Kwok-Bun Yue

Professor of Computer Science and Computer Information Systems,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3864
Email: yue@uhcl.edu
Office: Delta 163

Faculty Bio

Carl Zhang
Chunlong Zhang

Chunlong (Carl) Zhang

Program Chair of Environmental Science and Professor of Environmental Science, Environmental Chemisty ,
Science and Engineering

Contact number: 281-283-3746
Email: zhang@uhcl.edu
Office: B3531

Faculty Bio

Contact
  • College of Science and Engineering

    Phone: 281-283-3700
    Advising: 281-283-3711
    Email: cseadvising@uhcl.edu

    Bayou Building 3611
    2700 Bay Area Blvd, Box 415
    Houston, TX 77058-1002